traveling with depression

Hello, friends.

I am here to complain a bit. It’s about my depression.

See, I’ve applied to a lot, and I mean a lot, of out of state programs to engage in after I graduate college.

Ask me if my family and friends from back home support me in doing this. #theydon’t

Wanna know why?

Because, depression. That’s why.

They think that if I’m separated from them, my ‘main sources of support’, that I’ll go downhill. Probably end up in a hospital again.

Let me tell you, this really hurts.

I want to travel. 

I want to live in a place that I’ve never been before. I want to meet new people. I want to experience new things.

And ya know what? I don’t want depression to stop me from doing these things.

So I googled it. I googled “traveling with depression”.

And whaddoyaknow, tons of nifty blogs popped up.

Like this one. Or this one. Maybe even this one.

Friends. Please. I know that you love the people that are close to you, but please encourage them to follow their dreams, for goodness sakes. Sometimes a dream is all that they feel like they have.

Depression is going to be there whether I like it or not.

Changes like graduating and finding a job and living somewhere new, are going to be difficult – I acknowledge that. But I’m not going to let it sink me down.

I know my depression better now and I have the fight in me to keep going. To do self-care when it’s hard. To connect with others when I feel like isolating.

So, please.

Depression, make some room. Friends, don’t freak out too much.

But I’m moving to North Carolina.

One thought on “traveling with depression

Leave a Reply

