dressember

Hello, friends.

Today I’m going to write about this thing called Dressember.

Basically – you wear dresses during the entire month of December to raise awareness for human trafficking and to raise funds to fight against it.

It’s a really awesome way to be involved without being out in the field.

This will be my third year participating in Dressember, but let me tell ya, I was not feelin’ it this year.

I didn’t want to go out of my way to wear dresses for an entire month. I like wearing pants, okay? Dresses are uncomfortable and you have to put effort into being creative with the few dresses that you have.

But then I realized that I’m not doing this for me. I’m wearing dresses every day because some women don’t get a choice in what their day looks like. I’m wearing dresses for the dignity and worth of all people. I’m wearing dresses so that others can be free of oppression.

It’s easy to focus on myself. But I’m going to try to focus on the bigger picture.

The bigger picture being that when women, all over the globe, join together and wear dresses… they are making a difference in others lives.

It’s a beautiful thing.

If you feel like donating to the cause – here’s a link to my page! 🙂

https://support.dressemberfoundation.org/fundraiser/852398

Leave a Reply

