intricacy

Think of a snowflake, if you will. Imagine all of its points and lines, the frosty yet fluffy texture. It’s said that every snowflake is unique.

IMG_20160814_203246882

Now look at the picture of that flower of whom I do not know the name of. See how it’s colors go from light to dark, how the petals stack nearly perfectly atop one another. How it stands tall by itself and has a burst of yellow in the middle.

Nature astounds me. If you ever go on a hike or even a walk through the neighborhood with me, prepare to travel slowly because I tend to stop and look at all the details in the things around us.

This happened the other day when I was walking with my roommate and we stumbled across a community garden. She planted herself in the bench over viewing it all and I went to slowly wander among the flowers and vegetation. Then I saw the flower mentioned earlier.

My breath gets taken away a lil’ bit when I admire flowers. They’re just so beautiful, ya know? I could stare at them all day. That’d probably be a good career change, a Flower Starer. My parents would be so proud.

Anyway.

When I admire nature and really, deeply think about it, God likes to lightly tap me on the shoulder and whisper, “Hey…Kirsten. This is real nice, but think about who you are.”

Whaaaaat. Who I am?

Then I think about human beings. How we are each created so beautifully, so intricately by our loving Father. Each one of us is unique. We are unique in our likes and dislikes, our facial features, the color of our skin, the culture we grow up in, and the types of lifestyles that we live out.

I hope you chew on that, because it’s honestly astounding to me that God sees each of us as very good. That we’re kinda, sorta His favorite thing that He created (smite me if I’m wrong.) Our diversity and the very being of who we are gives our Heavenly Father great joy.


So if you’re ever feeling down, try to focus on this intricacy. Remember that God knows every piece of you and loved you so much that He gave you this life and hope. He was always with you, is always with you, and will forever be with you.

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!
Psalm 139:13-18 NLT

Leave a Reply

