psa

Hello dear friends.

It’s me. With an incredibly important public service announcement.

Here it is:

Names are important.

Let me tell you a story. Often times, my inbox is filled with emails that begin with “Hello Kristin” or “Hi Kristen” or some variation of the sort. I had a considerable amount of emails like this one day and in the middle of that group was an email from a professor that spelled my name correctly. Now, it may not seem like a big deal. But when people spell my name right, I typically let out a little squeal of joy.

I responded to my professor’s email and also told him how much I appreciated that he spelled my name right.

This was his response:

“Amen! Names are important… I can’t tell you how often I get called “Fester”, which, on top of being wrong, is also kind of gross.”

And I thought I had it bad.

I take pride in my name, I’m sure there are a lot of people out there that do too. When people take the time to learn how to pronounce my name and spell it out, it shows me that they care. They care enough to pause for that extra moment longer to look me in the eye and ask if they got it right.

However, when people don’t get my name right, it sends me a signal that this person doesn’t care. This person is so wrapped up in their own life or they’re so busy that they didn’t care enough to even tap their fingers on a keyboard in a certain sequence.

Please don’t be that person.

People are important. Names are important. Make time to know people. Everyone wants to be known and loved, even in little ways. Don’t get so consumed in your own ‘ish that the people around you are a blur. Little things like a smile or saying hello can change someone’s day for the better. If you don’t believe it, start paying attention to the people that do the little things in the lives around you. They’re there. Spreading kindness like confetti.

 

*drops mic, steps off soap box, and walks away

Leave a Reply

