I didn’t say anything

I didn’t say anything.

But I did everything.

I [try my best to] accept people as they are, no judgement. Everyone has their own kind of baggage in life, some may struggle with it more outwardly than others.

I [try my best to] hear people’s stories. I absolutely love getting into the nitty gritty details of what makes someone’s heart sing or cry.

I [try my best to] be there for people. I want to be available, a focused listener, someone willing to sit in the dark with a friend.

I [try my best to] love.

I never told my friend that I support her being gay, or if I did I honestly don’t remember. What struck me deeply is when she texted me and told me that she was thankful for me, to have a friend that makes her feel like she matters and to know that I love every piece of her.

Friends, let me tell you. That text made me cry.

She sent this out of the blue and it made me cry happy tears. To know that I make someone feel like that, like they matter, is a beautiful encouragement. Although I never told her that I would definitely call someone out on treating her differently, or that I will do whatever it takes to make her feel like she’s in a safe place – my actions were enough to tell her that.

Friends, please think about this. How are you acting towards the people around you? It may be a close friend you’ve known for years or your electrician or the homeless man sitting on the bench at the park. My hope for you is that you exude God’s love – a love that is unconditional, not expecting anything in return, and spontaneous.

Each human life is precious, valuable. We all have a story. And I think that everyone has a little piece inside of them that just needs to hear that they matter.

Love others in the way that only you can.


Let all that you do be done in love. 1 Corinthians 16:14

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

